The difference between Vegetarianism and Veganism?
Written by Tena Moore
Simply put, vegetarians have chosen not to eat meat from animals. They do not eat fish, poultry, beef, pork or any other type of flesh from once-living animals. They do, however, still eat byproducts of these
animals, such as eggs and dairy. Vegetarians usually substitute tofu, tempeh, portabella mushrooms, and many other items in the place of meat without much effort. Vegetarian diets can remain very similar to the standard American diet through meat substitutes such as veggie burgers, tofu hotdogs, and fake chicken nuggets. There are also different types of vegetarians, from lacto-vegetarians that do not eat meat and eggs, to ovo-vegetarians that do not eat meat and dairy.
When someone says they are ‘vegan’, they are speaking about more than their diet choices; it is a complete lifestyle that adheres to respecting animals as living beings by not consuming animal products, not wearing animal products, and also not buying products that have been animal-tested. Vegans do not eat the meat of animals and do not eat their byproducts such as honey, dairy, and eggs. It also usually means that they do not wear leather, fur, silk, or wool, or buy products that have been animal-tested.
While vegetarians do not eat animals, vegans strive to live their lives without promoting killing, cruelty or exploitation of animals in any way.
Must You Take Statins For Cholesterol?
Organic food really is healthier
Alternative Medicine and Fibromyalgia
Ginger: A Natural Healer?
Alternative Medicine and Migraines
Alternative Medicine and Preventing the Common Cold
Return to VitaminStuff Homepage: